Creamy Pappardelle with Leeks and Bacon

 
We had some family in town over this last weekend which left me trying to figure out some meals that would be easy to make but also be big enough to feed everyone. I thought this one might fit the bill and it did, sort of. You can read the recipe here

This first caught my eye as it was a different recipe (at least not your typical pasta) and it had bacon, so, there you go. It was not my first choice for dinner but in the end I decided it would work. I did choose to make three batches of this recipe in order to have enough. That worked but also caused some problems. It worked in that there was plenty, even enough to give my brother some to take home and still have our own leftovers. It didn’t work in that it took forever to make. Cooking three times the leeks, bacon, etc. took way longer than I thought and the pasta had to be made in two batches as I couldn’t get it all in one pot. 

But, it was a really good dish, something I would recommend. In my opinion, it is basically an Alfredo sauce but the amount of sauce doesn’t make it very apparent. It is just a “creamy” sauce. I did make a few minor tweaks. The only pappardelle I could find at the store was a garlic and herb pappardelle which worked fine but it wasn’t “plain”. It does say you can use fettuccine which I almost did until I found the package of pappardelle. Also, the pasta was in 12 ounce packages so while I tripled the recipe, there wasn’t quite as much pasta. 

For the bacon, I counted the slices in the package and there were only two extra from the total amount needed which made me use the whole package. Besides, who doesn’t like more bacon? And lastly, while I had some fresh thyme in the fridge, I chose to use dried, ground thyme (half as much as called for). It made me feel like I was saving some time but in the grand scheme of things, it didn’t really matter. 

Overall, a good recipe. The leeks don’t have a strong flavor, at least that I could tell with this dish so if you are hesitant on the leeks, don’t worry about it. 

This entry was posted in Bacon, Pasta and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

