Rigatoni with Lemon Chile Pesto and Grated Egg

  
And now for something completely different. Well, sort of. While I make a very wide variety of recipes, always looking to try new things, this maybe isn’t quite one I would gravitate too. But, it looked fairly interesting and I figured, why not?  You can read the recipe here

The short version is that it was good but very lemon-y. If you really like lemon, this is probably for you. If you don’t, maybe not. The girls didn’t like it although they ate what I asked them to of the bowl I had given them. The seven year old’s quote was “yeah, not a fan” which was really funny given the look on her face when she said it. Wish I would have gotten a picture of that. 

I did make a slew of changes but didn’t alter the recipe to the point where it isn’t what it said. I chose to use the full box of pasta (16 ounces) in place of just 12 ounces. I didn’t want four ounces of it hanging around waiting for me to figure out what to do with it. I also simply used one kind of lemon. I decided I didn’t want to try and figure out where to get the other lemon. It was all fresh squeezed lemon juice and fresh lemon zest. I used grated Parmesan in place of the pecorino. And lastly, as with the last recipe that called for red pepper flakes, I sprinkled some on my bowl rather than mixing it into the whole dish. 

Again, a lot of tweaks but nothing too significant. The only thing I would do different if I were to make this again would be to cook the pasta a little less in the water. The point is to “finish” the pasta when mixing it with the pesto and some of the leftover liquid. It worked fine the way I did it but the pasta was already “done” when I took it out of the water. 

While I don’t see anything wrong with this dish, I probably won’t make it again. It wasn’t a hit with the family and was only good, not great. 

This entry was posted in Pasta and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

