Spiced Rum Punch with Citrus and Luxardo

  
And of course, spending a holiday at my parents means that I’m also bringing some kind of drink. Typically it is a bourbon or whiskey based drink but this time around I went with rum. Spiced rum to be exact. Well, a combination of rums. Anyway, you can read the recipe here

While it was not the typical bourbon drink, it was very good. In fact, in some ways it was better. Mainly in the fact that I could drink it without really “feeling it”. Or at least right away. Some of the other drinks I’ve made hit you pretty hard right away. This one might have as well if I had used a high proof rum as suggested, but I went with a “normal” rum (Bacardi) for both the regular rum and spiced rum. I decided to quadruple (4x) this recipe. Turns out there are 4 cups in a 750 ml bottle which means that when it was all said and done, there were two whole bottles of rum in it. Speaking of that, I had a partial bottle of Puerto Rico rum in that cabinet that I wanted to use up. Which means that there are three types of rum. Not sure how much it made a difference but I wanted to call it out. 

For the rest of it, I used a combination of fresh and bottled juices. The grapefruit juice was from a bottle. I needed the peels, really the zest, from some oranges and lemons for something (more on that in a later post) so I squeezed those for the juice and used bottled for the rest of it. Not much came from the oranges and lemons. Maybe one recipe’s worth. 

I did go out and look for (and eventually find) the Luxardo which is an Italian cherry liquor. And pretty pricey at that. I didn’t mind that I went and got it, but now I’ve got it sitting there and need to figure out what to do with it. 

Overall, as I said earlier, this was a good drink. I am not sure exactly how many others had some but I do know those that did, liked it. My younger sister told me that it “tastes like college”.  Sound like a good endorsement to me. 

This entry was posted in Alcohol and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

