Pecan Pie Shortbread Bars

  
Editor’s note – I am not sure why the picture is rotated. 

Christmas with my family is usually a low key affair, at least when it comes to food. We usually have a “buffet” of sandwich fixings and other foods steer than a big sit-down type meal. Which leaves me making more of a dessert type dish and, of course, several things. This year was no different. I had found this blog post (likely in an email) from King Arthur Flour about making these. You can read the post here

Now, the post does say that you should use their box mix for the shortbread and their pecan pie mix. While there is nothing wrong with that, I didn’t have time to order those two items. Thankfully, at the very end of the post, they link to a shortbread recipe and a pecan pie recipe. I used those. 

The end result? Very good. I can’t say that I am a huge pecan pie fan so I can’t say that these were over the top, but it was very good. Everyone that tried them, liked them. 

I only made two small changes. I only used light corn syrup instead of half light and half dark. I don’t think it made that big of a difference. I also added a few extra pecans. Once it was all poured on to the shortbread it looked like it could use a few more, plus I had a few left in the bag. It saved me from having a small amount leftover. These are easy to put together. The shortbread is pretty self-explanatory as is the pie mix. And it is as simple as pouring the pie mix on the baked shortbread and baking it more. 

I would recommend making these. Whether you make it from scratch or use their mixes, I’m sure it will turn out fine and be good. 

This entry was posted in Dessert and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

