Peppermint Crunch Scones

  
On my wife’s side of the family, we always do a late breakfast on Christmas once everyone has gotten there. This year I had planned on making cinnamon rolls (see previous post) but was requested to make something else (it was this). Nothing wrong with that as it is a great recipe but I was interested in something different. I had this package of peppermint crunch chips in the freezer that I had wanted to try and use this year. What came to mind was that I could probably mix some of the chips into scones. A quick search of the Internet led me to this recipe, for basic scones. 

I felt like the recipe turned out well and they tasted pretty good. The results of others who ate it were mixed. Some loved it and others didn’t. I think part of that had to do with the peppermint flavor. Not everyone is a fan. 

The recipe was a nice “clean” recipe that I felt could be adapted into different types and flavors. The dough came together really well. I didn’t try to separate the pieces after I cut it but I should have and, with this recipe, I thinking would have worked. The dough was together enough that it could have pulled apart. I say that as once it reached the time it was supposed to be done, I felt like the middle wasn’t done. So I re-cut the pieces and separated them at that point and baked them for a few more minutes, trying to get the middle to be done. Overall, it worked fine. 

I would recommend trying the scone recipe. You don’t have to make peppermint scones if that isn’t your thing but try something. Plain or your own design. 

This entry was posted in Bread, Breakfast and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment