Almond Biscotti 

  
Much like my last recipe, this is a favorite of mine that I was really surprised I hadn’t blogged about. I really feel like I’ve made this in the last 2-3 years but, maybe not. Or I just assumed I had blogged about it. Either way, I’m making up for it now. Typically, for whatever reason it gets made more around the holidays than other times but it can certainly be made whenever. In fact, now that I’ve made it and given some away, I feel the need to make more. This is my mom’s recipe while I’ve not changed anything about it, I do tend to make it my own way. 

Mainly that means I don’t separate it into six pieces for backing but dump it into one or two large sections. This means a longer baking time (usually) but also results in the opportunity for larger (longer) pieces. This time around it did take me longer to bake and I still had some issues with it being really soft which made cutting difficult. Lots of crumbs. However, I was able to get some decent pieces out of it. 

I did add all the flour and should have added more as it was still pretty sticky. That was another reason it went into two large piles. It was hard to shake into nice logs. Maybe next time I’ll get the flour mix right. Oh and the original calls for two types of almonds (sliced and slivered) with some being toasted. I use all the same, usually sliced, and don’t toast them. Yes toasting would bring out more flavor but it is simpler to just go with the I toasted. 

Regardless, it is really good. Eating some of it as I was making it and packaging it up took me back. I highly recommend making this.

  • 4 to 4 1/2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt 
  • 1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, softened
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 4 large eggs
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla 
  • 2 cups sliced/slivered almonds (half toasted if you prefer)

Heat oven to 325 degrees. Lightly grease two large baking sheets (or use parchment paper). In a medium bowl, combine 4 cups of flour, baking powder and salt. Set aside. 

With your mixer on medium speed, cream together the butter and sugar until light and fluffy (about 5 minutes). Add three eggs, beating well after each one. Separate the last egg, saving the egg white. Add the egg yolk and vanilla and mix well. 

Reduce mixer speed to low and gradually add the flour mixture. Stir in nuts (by hand or with the mixer). If dough is sticky, add the remaining 1/2 cup of flour (or more if needed). Divide dough into 6 pieces. 

Shape each piece into an 8×2 log and place on the cookie sheets. Brush with the reserved egg white. Bake for 30 minutes or until firm and golden brown. Transfer logs to a cutting board. Reduce oven temperature to 350 degrees. 

With a serrated knife and a sawing motion, cut the logs at an angle into 1/2″ pieces. Arrange slices on cookie sheets, cut side up. Bake for 15 minutes, turning once, or until dry. Cool slices on a wire rack and store in an airtight container. 

This entry was posted in Bread, Breakfast and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

