Mint Chocolate Chip Cookies

  
This is one of my favorite cookies. Ever. I am really surprised that I haven’t made (blogged) about these before. I typically make these around the holidays which means I should have made them last year. But the packages of chips I used had been in the freezer for quite awhile. Anyway, these are great. I’m not sure exactly where the recipe came from as I’ve had it on a card forever and got it from family. 

Believe it or not, these are not made with cocoa or mint flavoring but rather you take one package of mint chocolate chips and melt them to stir into the dough. That gives it both the flavor and color. Plus you add another package of chips at the end which helps with the mint flavor. Way back when I was able to find milk chocolate/mint chips but those have been increasingly hard to find. I’ve used Andes mint chips before which work pretty well. For these, I had two bags of dark chocolate/mint chips where the mint chips were green. You can kind of see that in the picture. They still melt down just fine and the dark chocolate shines through so the cookies don’t come out green. Which wouldn’t be bad, just a little different. 

I used a large scoop to make these cookies as I like my cookies a little bigger. I still got about 4 dozen out of the mix which is good but a lot. Good thing I was giving some of these away. There was still a slight “problem” with them spreading out and being thin but I accept that for these cookies. That’s the way it has always been. 

  • 2 packages mint chocolate chips
  • 1 cup butter, softened 
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 2 1/2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon baking soda 

Melt one package of chips in the microwave, stirring to ensure all are melted. Set aside to cool. Mix flour, salt and baking soda in a bowl. Set aside. 

Meanwhile, beat butter and sugar together until light and fluffy. Beat in eggs, one at a time. Add vanilla and melted chocolate. Beat until well combine. Gradually add the flour mixture on low speed. Add second package of chips. 

Drop by teaspoon onto greased cookie sheets (use your sheet of choice, I never grease the ones I use) and bake at 375 degrees for 10 minutes. Cool on the sheet for a few minutes. The cookies may “fall” a bit. Move to wire racks to cool completely. 

This entry was posted in Chocolate, Cookies and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

