Ultimate Sugar Cookies

  
Yesterday (Saturday) I spent the majority of the day baking. It was a day where there wasn’t anything we had to do and I decided that I would spend the day making cookies, etc.  This was really the first opportunity to do anything like that this year. Or rather, this Christmas season. Sugar cookies were not on my original list of cookies to make but this recipe kept showing up in emails from Bon Appetite and I finally decided to do it. I was hesitant as I seem to have trouble with the sugar cookies but it was something that the girls could definitely help with. 

This recipe was a little different than the one I have used before. I can’t say that I completely agree with the title of “ultimate” but I do feel that it worked a little better than the recipe we have used in the past. Or maybe it was the fact that this was only the second cookie I made that day and I was still “fresh”. Either way it was good. You can read the recipe here

As the dough needed to chill in the fridge for at least two hours, I made this early in the morning so I could get back to it sooner rather than later. I had a loose plan for making all the cookies and it worked well to start this (and some others) early. Overall it worked pretty well. I am still not an “expert” in getting the dough rolled out perfectly even so there were some that were thick than others and as we got down to the end with the scraps, it got more interesting. But I still managed to get about 4 dozen cookies out of the recipe. It says you can get 2-3 dozen depending on the size. It probably means I ran it too thin. I had this great idea of making really thick ones but in the end I kept rolling as I wanted a higher quantity. 

The cookies tasted good as we sampled some of the ones that didn’t look as nice. I wound up doing one pan of cookies at a time. It definitely increased the amount of time it took to bake all of the cookies but it worked out a bit better for me. I only have about 3 good cookie pans which allows me to rotate and let pans cool but doesn’t work as well if I try to double up pans in the oven. 

I recommend giving these a try whether you have a good sugar cookie recipe or not. Oh, and I didn’t frost any in case you were wondering. It was not on my list of things to do. Plus it makes stacking them up harder. 

This entry was posted in Cookies and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ultimate Sugar Cookies

Leave a Reply

