Coffee Cake with Cocolate Streusel 

  
I wanted to try this for several reasons. First, it sounded good and I’m always interested a good breakfast recipe although I am not always the greatest at eating breakfast. Second, I wanted to see if I could have some success making something in a bundt pan. I have not had good luck with things in a bundt pan. Either it doesn’t cook all the way in the middle (which is odd given the shape of the pan) or it sticks. 

I am happy to say that this turned out very well on all fronts. You can read the recipe here

A couple of thoughts –

It calls for a 12 cup bundt pan. I don’t know how big mine is as the size stamped on it doesn’t talk about cups. This filled (filled) the pan. So much so that something bubbled out and started burning in the oven. Nothing like smelling it from downstairs, thinking how great it is only to walk upstairs to smell something burning. 

Speaking of burning, the streusel on top didn’t burn but it was getting a little crispy and some edges were a little more done. Now, it still tasted good (didn’t taste burnt) but I think we were teetering on the edge of letting it bake too long. 

For the baking, I went the full 80 minutes as recommended since I have a history of things not quite turning out so well in the bundt pans. Despite the top getting a little extra done, I believe that was the right decision. And I managed to get it out of the pan with no issues. I simply sprayed it down with nonstick cooking spray (no butter and flour) and said a prayer when it came time to flip. Now, you do have to flip it back over (small side down) to get the full effect of the streusel but it works out. 

One other thing to keep in mind is that it does take awhile to make. Almost a hour and a half for backing plus a half hour of cooling in the pan. And it says to let it cool completely out of the pan which I didn’t do. As you can see in the picture, it was right about 8 am when I was cutting it. Which means, yes, I started it around 5:30 am. 

Overall, this was very good. Despite some of the issues, and potential over-baking of the streusel, it tasted good. It was light and somewhat fluffy. Probably a better way to describe it is not dense.  It was soft enough that you almost had to cut very big pieces otherwise it would just fall apart. I would recommend this. Just keep in mind it does make a lot of coffeecake. We will be eating it for a few days. 

This entry was posted in Breakfast, Chocolate and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

