Fancy Grilled Cheese with a Fried Egg

  
This was the recipe I intended to make where I needed the Cranberry Walnut Bread. Not that I needed the bread as I could have used another bread but it called for it. You can read the recipe here

The recipe calls for making four sandwiches but this is one of those recipes that you can make as many or as few as you want. I made, for myself, one morning. Not that I couldn’t make one for someone else but I did think this was something that I would get a strange look of I said “here I made you breakfast!”  

And yes, you read that right. I did eat this for breakfast which, admittedly, was a little different (it is a grilled cheese after all) but it has an egg so it is sort of like an egg and cheese sandwich, right? That is what I am going with. 

As my bread didn’t get very big (tall) with the second rise, the sandwiches were a little skinny but that didn’t affect the overall taste. The only switch I made was using a smoked gruyere. And my egg was over easy instead of sunny side up, but the concept of a runny yolk remains.

This turned out to be pretty good. A lot better than you might think. There are A LOT of flavors going on here – cranberry walnut bread, honey, gruyere, egg….but it all comes together. It does work. The bread does add something so while another bread could be used, it wouldn’t be quite the same. 

I’d recommend this if you are feeling adventurous. I’m sure you could find a cranberry walnut bread to buy if you didn’t want to go to the trouble of making it. 

This entry was posted in Bread, Breakfast, Cheese, Eggs and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

