Bucatini with Walnut Parsley Pesto

  
In the end, this turned out to be a very good dish. I hadn’t been concerned about it until I started making it and my main concern was whether or not it would be too spicy. You can read the recipe here

I felt pretty proud of myself that I managed to find the ingredients and not have to substitute anything. It was a last minute find but the bucatini pasta was there. For those that don’t know (and I didn’t), bucatini is like a thick spaghetti but it has a small hole through the middle. Basically, it is hollow. If you can find it, a thick spaghetti would work fine. That was my backup plan. I even had a package in the cart before I finally saw the bucatini.

And I found a Fresno chile (a red one if that matters). At least I think it was a Fresno chile. That is a downside sometimes of the grocery store we go to – sometimes I don’t feel like the produce is labeled effectively and I have to guess. Anyway, I got a chile. Once I was making it I decided I needed to see how spicy it was as I’m the only one that likes spicy food. I took a small section of the chile and ate it. Instantly my lips were on fire. Not good. This led me to use half of the chile instead of the whole chile and I de-seeded it (which I had already planned on doing). In the end, when the chile was mixed in with the pesto you couldn’t really taste any heat. Which was fine but I’d rather have that than something we couldn’t eat. Or at least anyone else couldn’t eat. 

This came together nicely and I was happy with the overall end product. There are a few steps involved so it is a little time consuming to put together but I think the end result is worth it. I didn’t have the girls eat it even without the heat being there but my wife did and she had no complaints.  I’d give this a try. 

This entry was posted in Pasta and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

