Apple Coffee Cake with Crumble Topping

  
This is another recipe I’ve had hanging around for quite some time that I have made periodically. I had a thought/feeling/desire to make this the other day. Actually, it had been part of the “plan” for breakfast over the Thanksgiving holiday weekend that never came to fruition.  Earlier this week I was finally able to get it made. You can read the recipe here

This is a good coffee cake. The apples give it a nice flavor while helping to keep the cake moist. For this time around, I decided to cut the recipe in half. It was only the four of us and I was concerned about having a huge pan that would take us forever to eat. So I cut it in half and made it in an 8×8 clear class pan. Yes, a pan of that size is not “half” but it works out pretty well. 

I did need to bake it longer, at the high end of the suggested time. That was due,min part to it being a little deeper in the 8×8 pan along with the aspect of it being clear glass. I read something recently (I cannot remember where, maybe something out of Cook’s Illustrated) that things made in light colored or clear glass pans will take longer to bake than something made in a dark pan. Either way, it came out fine. 

I skipped the brown sugar glaze part of the recipe. Mainly due to timing. I had made this on a weekday morning and misjudged the time it would take me to make it (a common issue sadly) and if I was going to be able to eat any of it and make it to work on time, the glaze had to go. I know what it adds, but it is just fine without it. 

This entry was posted in Apples, Breakfast and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

