Carrot Salad with Coriander Vinaigrette and Pistachios 

  
Thanksgiving at my parent’s house usually involves us bringing some kind of side dish. For me that means a few different things as it is an opportunity to try a few new recipes. This doesn’t necessarily fall into a “typical” Thanksgiving dish but was a recipe that I had saved awhile back and was looking for the right time to make it. You can read the recipe here

This turned out to be a pretty good dish although it took a little longer than planned. But that may have been that I was rushing after spending too much time outside hanging Christmas lights. I opted to use the peeler to create thin strips of carrot, of varying sizes due to the size of the carrot and my ability to effectively do it. That seemed to be quicker and, relatively, easier than trying to julienne the carrots. I figured even if the lengths were different, it would be more uniform than if I tried my (poor) knife skills at cutting the carrots. 

The only change to the recipe was that I skipped the crushed red pepper in favor of a pinch of a ground pepper whose name escapes me. I got it from a friend who grew it in their garden. It provided a little bit of heat which was what I was going for. I was a little concerned that the red pepper would be too much. 

This turned out really well. The presentation was nice even if it doesn’t quite look like the picture in the recipe. But that’s okay. I wasn’t sure about the taste. Not that it would be bad, but I wasn’t sure what it would be like. It was better than expected and everyone liked it. I would recommend this if you are looking for a different dish to make for a meal. 

This entry was posted in Side Dishes, Vegetable and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

