Mushroom and Buratta Lasagnette

  
This recipe caught my attention from the aspect that it was different. It was only mushroom (read: no meat) and it was not quite a true lasagna. Read the recipe here

Overall, it was pretty decent dish. I was able to cut the prep time down by using a large pot to cook all the mushrooms at one (instead of in stages) and another pot to cook the noodles at the same time. And since there was a lot of inactive time there, I was able to get the rest of the stuff put together. I did use the lasagna noodles and used some onion in place of the shallot. 

The assembly went fairly well. The dish I used was an oval, 2 1/2 quart casserole dish. The noodles were a little long for it but not quite wide enough. But it worked. I did cut some of the noodles down and tried to place them on the sides to make up for it. I almost ran out of the ricotta mix as I can never seem to be able to portion it right but it worked out. I also sprayed the dish down with non-stick spray to try and help with the clean up (it worked). 

For the mushrooms, I used three packages of a “restaurant blend” of shiitake, oyster and mini Bella and one package of just mini Bella. That wasn’t on purpose but it worked. I also used the option of fresh mozzarella rather than the Buratta. I suppose that means I shouldn’t call it a mushroom and Buratta dish but that is what it is called. And I didn’t measure out the Parmesan, I simply used the micro grater with the block and tried to evenly cover each layer. 

In the end, it was a good dish. Although I will say, even though I have no issues with non-meat dishes, that I would have been really good with some sausage. But it is good without. 

This entry was posted in Pasta and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mushroom and Buratta Lasagnette

Leave a Reply

