(Hard) Root Beer Bacon Pulled Pork

  
I found this recipe on Facebook and after posting this picture I got a lot of comments on it which tells me that the recipe is making the rounds. I saw it when an individual posted it to the Not Your Father’s Root Beer Facebook page. I’m not really sure why I saw it as I don’t follow that page. I guess it was something that was being promoted. 

Anyway, I chose to make it as it sounded pretty good. I did make a few tweaks to it. The basics are putting a pork roast in the crockpot with some bacon and a few bottles of hard root beer (alcoholic root beer). Let it cook, drain and shred it. Add the barbecue sauce of choice and you are good to go. 

  • 4 lb boneless pork butt
  • 4 pieces of bacon
  • 2 bottles hard root beer
  • BBQ sauce

I used a bone-in pork butt because, well, that’s what the store had. Which is okay. I’m a believer that the bones add some flavor. In the end I probably wound up with less than four pounds given the bone and the fact that I trimmed some fat off before putting it in. Not a significant amount but it all adds up. 

I used six pieces of bacon. Extra bacon is fine but this was more specific in that you are supposed to cover the pork butt with it. My pieces of bacon (taken from a bulk package) were more like 3/4 pieces of bacon so I added a few more to ensure coverage. 

For the hard root beer, I used two bottles from Coney Island Brewing. Nothing against the Not Your Father’s Root Beer but I have had it and didn’t really like it. I figured if I needed to buy a six-pack of something, I would rather have something I’ve not tried. Or maybe better stated, I wasn’t going to buy something I didn’t like. Two bottles almost covered the pork. 

Cook on low for about eight hours. Drain, shred and add BBQ sauce. Then you are ready to go. Now, mine probably sat for eight and a half hours and then sat for another two hours or so on the “warm” setting as I had to leave again after shredding it. It worked out pretty well that way. Maybe could have kept a little extra liquid in it since it was going to sit around for a few more hours. 

Now, a couple of things. The alcohol will burn off and you are left with the flavor so there is no concern on this being “drunken” pulled pork or anything. The flavor was pretty good. I went back and forth on whether or not to add the BBQ sauce straight in or leave it as a condiment. It said to mix it in but I wanted the ending flavor of the meat to show through. In the end, after having my seven year old taste test it, I left the BBQ sauce as a condiment. It worked very well that way and the overall flavor of the meat was there. For the BBQ sauce I used the regular Sweet Baby Rays. 

This was a good meal and easy to do for a weeknight, given that it uses the crockpot. Use any kind of root beer you like, even a regular (nonalcoholic) if you want. I al last did that as I wasn’t sure I wanted to buy another round of hard root beer but I caved. Happy cooking. 

This entry was posted in Alcohol, Bacon, Pork and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

