Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Seed Cookies

  
Trying to hit some pumpkin related recipes at the end of October led me to try these. They are not pumpkin per se, but contain pumpkin seeds so I figure that is close enough. Plus, it was just an intriguing recipe, especially with the size of the cookies. You can read the recipe here

The size of the cookies can be described as “huge”. I should have put something next to a cookie in the picture for scale. Using the 1/4 cup scoop as a guide did make some very large balls and subsequent cookies. I will admit that I was a little wary of the size as I wasn’t sure how it would turn out (see any of my other cookie posts and my cookie struggles). But it worked really well. I was able to get about 24 cookies using a 1/4 scoop as an estimate (the recipe called for making 18) which was a plus. 

The only thing I didn’t do with the recipe was sprinkle salt on the cookies before baking. I have no doubt that it would have been really good; I just wasn’t feeling it. And, if you can find all ready roasted pumpkin seeds, I would buy those. Roasting your own is t hard, but if you had some that were already roasted it would save a step. And I say that as there was a container of alr day roasted next to the container of raw at the store. And I bought the raw because that it was it called for. Oh, and I used semi-sweet chocolate chips in place of the chocolate chunks. It worked just as well and I had the chips on hand (as always). 

As for the taste? Fantastic. I highly recommend making these. They are especially good warm when the chocolate is still a little melt-y. I think hey would be good warmed up with some ice cream as well. I haven’t tried it but there are two left that are calling my name. 

This entry was posted in Chocolate, Cookies and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

