Apple Brown Sugar Pie

  
Warning – while I highly recommend this, I must warn you that it takes a long time to make this pie. And by a long time, I mean at least 3 1/2 hours, not counting the 4 hours it is supposed to sit after baking. And, that is with me making my own pie crust instead of the one in the recipe. Which is important, as my crust did not take as long as the one in the recipe said it would. 

You can read the recipe here but I’ll give you some of the highlights. Why does it take so long?  Well, you start out by roasting the apples (30 minutes), then letting them cool and chill for at least 1 hour. Then there is the assembly and putting it in the freezer for 30 minutes before baking it for 1 1/2 hours. All that time adds up to 3 1/2 hours plus the “extra” time around assembly, etc.

I did this on a Saturday morning, in advance of friends coming over for dinner that night. I started about 6:30 am which allowed the pie to be out of the oven around 11:00 am. It then sat on the stove cooling for about 3 hours before going in the fridge for several hours before we ate it. 

Would I recommend this? Absolutely. It was a really good pie. Would I make it again? No don’t know. There is a part of me that says “yes, of course!” I mean, look at the picture. I’m incredibly happy from a presentation standpoint. It cut well, the filling is all one solid mass, it is not falling out and oozing all over causing you to scrape it up out of the pie pan. On the other hand, I think that there is no way I’m making this again because of how long it took. I mean, really?  ALL morning making a pie? Then again, maybe that is the sacrifice. If you want something really good, you need to take the extra time to make it. 

Oh, and one last item. I did make a change, sort of. It calls for 4 pounds of apples that are peeled, cored and sliced. I used a bag we had from the freezer that had 5 cups of cut up apples (also peeled and cored). We typically use that amount (5 cups) for other pies and we have a lot of apples in the freezer like that so I was reluctant to go buy more apples. After roasting them the first time, I got a little concerned that it wasn’t going to be enough. I had weighed them and it was barely 2 pounds which had concerned me. I almost did a second bag but that would have given me more than I needed considering the peels and cores of the apples help make up the 4 pounds you are supposed to start with. So I stuck with just the 5 cups. Once it was poured into the pie pan, I felt much better as it filled it nicely. And I guess that I should mention that the type of apple used was a yellow apple from my in-laws trees rather than the Granny Smith it called for. They worked just fine. 

This entry was posted in Apples, Pie and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

