Salmon BLTs

  
Essentially this is a BLT with a piece of salmon on it. Nothing over the top about it, but something a bit different. It does have a spicy garlic mayo that goes with it (which does have a kick). This recipe comes out of the Seasons magazine put out by Hy-Vee grocery stores. Earlier this year we got a Hy-Vee and although I don’t really shop there, I get their magazine. It is about 1/3 recipes and 2/3 other stuff. There hasn’t been much in them that I’ve wanted to try but this caught my eye. 

I did tweak the recipe slightly. It called for grilling the slamon but I baked mine. I couldn’t justify getting charcoal going for three small pieces of salmon and we are out of propane. But baking it worked. I did about seven minutes at 350 degrees. I also had to change the bread. It calls for ciabatta rolls, which I bought but by the time I got around to making this (which wasn’t that long) they were growing. Really growing. So I just used some of my Honey Wheat Bread. Which worked fine. 

I have to say that these turned out pretty well. And that is coming from someone that doesn’t really like BLTs. Actually, I’m not a fan of tomato which makes my BLTs more like BBLs with twice the bacon and no tomato. But I’m trying to be better at eating the tomatoes in dishes like this. And I think both the spicy garlic mayo and the salmon covered up, so to speak, the tomato. 

I am only going to list out the ingredients for the mayo. The rest is pretty self explanatory and you can choose how to cook your salmon. Just season it with some salt and pepper and you are good to go. Assemble the whole thing as you normally would a BLT. 

  • 1/4 mayo
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 1 tablespoon lemon juice
  • 1/8 teaspoon cayenne 
  • 1/8 teaspoon smoked paprika 

Mix together and set aside while you get everything else ready to go. 

This entry was posted in Bacon, Fish and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

