Chicken a la Orange

  
The other day I was at a complete loss for what to make for dinner. Which is really odd because usually there is something I have set up even if it is an “old standby” meal or leftovers. Well, I guess there were some leftovers but I wanted to save those for lunch and there was one recipe I could have made but I just wasn’t “feeling” it. Which led me to stand in the kitchen for quite awhile trying to figure it out. Then I started digging around and then pulled out the trusty old recipe card box. Yes, in addition to having stacks and stacks of magazines, cookbooks and the Internet, I still have recipes written on cards in a box. 

This was the one I picked although I had to change the pasta used as we were (somehow) out of spaghetti. This recipe comes from (I think) a Men’s Health magazine. Or a cookbook associated with Men’s a Health. Either way, I’ve had this for years, used to make it frequently but now it is relegated to the box. It is a good recipe, I just have so much going on with other recipes that some of these old ones get left behind. 

Anyway. It has a bit of an Asian feel to it with the orange and soy sauce. It pairs pretty well with any pasta although the idea is topping some kind of spaghetti. I went with the vegetable rotini pasta. Nomr al reason other than it was there. I would recommend this recipe. One note would be that I’m pretty sure the recipe is for two people. I fed four (two kids, two adults) with it but the ratio of pasta to chicken was heavy on the pasta. It would probably be good to double or triple the recipe of needing to feed more people. 

Oh and it is a pretty quick meal to put together which is always beneficial. 

  • 1/2 package (8 ounces) angel hair pasta
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1/2 lb chicken breast, sliced into strips
  • 1 teaspoon minced garlic
  • 1/2 cup orange juice
  • 2 teaspoons soy sauce
  • 1 tablespoon flour
  • 1/2 cup diced carrots (I diced small to ensure they cooked)

Cook pasta according to the package. Drain and set aside. 

Heat oil in a large skillet. Add chicken and garlic, cooking for 10 minutes or until chicken is done. In a small bowl mix soy sauce, orange juice and flour. Pour into skillet along with the carrots. Bring to a boil then reduce heat and simmer for 5 minutes. 

Serve chicken mix over pasta. 

This entry was posted in Chicken, Pasta and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

