37 Calorie Brownie

  
Disclaimer – although the name of the recipe implies the calorie count, I cannot verify the accuracy of that calorie count. Plus, I made a tweak (or two) that changes the amount of calories. But then I cut them into smaller pieces so maybe it evens out?

This was yet another recipe floating around on Facebook. It was intriguing not so much from the calorie side as it was with the ingredient list. Using all the various substitutes that would lower the calorie count. So I gave it a try. Why not?  You should try knew things. Plus, it may be really, really good. Sadly it was not. It wasn’t bad (inedible) but it wasn’t something that I’m going to make and make and make again. I think it was the consistency of the finished product. It is a little hard to describe but it was thin and a little spongy. Not anything like the consistency of a normal brownie. And yes, I know this isn’t a normal brownie, but still. 

The ingredient list is below. My two changes were that I used whole milk instead of skim and I used some homemade applesauce instead of store bought. Which, maybe would have lowered the calorie count as the homemade wouldn’t have as much sugar, etc. in it, depending on what brand you bought. I then baked in in a 9″ round pan (yes, that may be a reason they were thinner) instead of a square 8″ pan. I cut them into eight wedges instead of nine squares. 

In the end I think it may be worth a shot to try it. As I said, it wasn’t horrible but wasn’t great either. 

  • 3/4 cup nonfat Greek yogurt (mine was plain)
  • 1/4 cup skim milk
  • 1/2 cup cocoa powder
  • 1/2 cup old fashioned rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup Truvia or other natural based sweetener that pours like sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1/3 cup applesauce
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 pinch of salt

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Grease a square 8″ pan. Combine all ingredients in a blender and blend until smooth. Pour into prepared dish and bake for about 15 minutes. Allow to cool completely before cutting into nine squares. 

This entry was posted in Brownies and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

