Turkey Meatball Subs

  
This recipe comes from the March 2014 issue of Cooking Light magazine. You can read it online here

It turned out very well but I have to say that making meatballs with turkey (or chicken) can prove to be challenging. It often times doesn’t want to hold together very well and this was no exception. I don’t think any of the meatballs I made are actual circles. The turkey was very squishy and I don’t feel like the mix of the bread from the roll, mixed with milk, helped keep it together. If I were to do it again, I would likely use regular bread crumbs to try and keep it together. 

I made a few changes with this. I didn’t use hoagie rolls but rather a store brand “premium brat bun” which was a step up from a hot dog bun but not to the level of a bogie roll. From a bun perspective, it worked out pretty well. I was still able to carve out this middle and have a little pocket to put the meatballs in. I also used a tablespoon of dried basil in place of the 1/4 cup of fresh. It probably wasn’t quite an equal substitute but I felt like it worked out pretty well. 

As for cooking the meatballs, as I said it was hard to keep them in their shape. Plus even with the oil in the pan they stuck a little bit furthering the issue of being misshapen. It was able to cook them on both sides for at least five minutes each which was good enough. Finishing them in the pan with the sauce for 15 minutes did the trick for completing the cooking. 

Overall, this recipe was a hit. I would do it again but maybe tweak the meatball recipe. This would also be pretty good not as a sandwich but over pasta. 

This entry was posted in Turkey and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

