Grilled Wings with Sweet Dijon Barbecue Marinade

image

With the start of the football season yesterday, I needed an appropriate dish to make for having some people over. Wings are always good and I’ve had this marinade recipe saved since about May. The recipe comes from Ziploc and was included on a picture of wings that had been posted on Facebook. It seemed pretty appropriate to use it on wings although I’m sure it could be used on much more.

I decided to grill the wings as I was in a hurry to get them done and it seemed like it would be quicker than the oven. Also, I had  planned on using this marinade/sauce as a finish, something to coat the wings in after they were done. But then I decided to brush it on as they were grilling. I grilled the wings on one side, flipped them and brushed some marinade on. I flipped them again and put marinade on the other side. At that point the wings were done and I was keeping them on just because until I saw some of the marinade starting to burn. I pulled the wings off and brushed them with a little more of the marinade.

They tasted pretty good. The sauce does have a sweetness to it but also another flavor which is hard to pin down but I think it comes from the curry. I had skipped the red pepper flakes so as to not risk it being spicy and I added some salt and pepper at the end after tasting it. It seemed appropriate to add that in. This amount of marinade worked well with 2 1/2 pounds of wings.

  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1/4 cup lemon juice
  • 1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 tablespoon spicy paprika (I used smoked)
  • 1 teaspoon red pepper flakes
  • 1 tablespoon curry powder
  • 1 teaspoon Dijon mustard
  • 1/4 cup ketchup

Whisk all ingredients together and use as you desire.

This entry was posted in Appetizers, Chicken, Grill and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

