Sirloin Steak Tacos with Grilled Peppers and Jicama

  
This recipe was inspired by a recipe in the March 2014 issue of Cooking Light magazine. That recipe used flank steak, a dry rub of spices and a little extra topping mixing some mustard with olive oil and vinegar which was then combined with the jicama and some radicchio. I misread the recipe, missing the part about the radicchio, which resulted in my just topping it with the peppers and the jicama. I also used sirloin steak (I had it in the freezer already) and turned the dry rub into a marinade (added 1/2 cup olive oil to the spices) and had the thawed steak in the marinade for about 18 hours. 

In the end these were good but not as flavorful as I had hoped. I realize that part of that is not having the “slaw” of the radicchio and jicama but I had hoped for more. The steak was flavorful, when I tried it on its own but once it was mixed with the rest, it seemed to lose the flavor. 

You can read the original recipe here. Although I am all for adjusting recipes and making them your own, I might suggest making this as directed to get some more flavor. 

This entry was posted in Beef, Grill and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

