Puppy Chow

  
After making several varieties of this (peppermintFrozen themedlemon, and red velvet) I figured I needed to post about it when I made “regular” puppy chow. Or whatever you want to call it. By the way, before someone says anything, while it is called puppy chow it is not for dogs. 

Okay, with that out of the way, I can say that there isn’t anything special about this. Making this, at this time, stemmed from the box of Rice Chex sitting on the fridge daring me to do something with it other than just eat it. So I finally gave in and used it to make this. The recipe I used comes from the back of the box. The only adjustment I made was I used 10 cups of Chex instead of 9 (that’s what was left) which caused me to then increase the rest of the ingredients a little bit. Oh, and I forgot to add the vanilla. Not a big deal but it would have helped make stirring it a little easier. Anyway, here is the recipe (as written on the box). 

  • 9 cups Chex (any variety)
  • 1 cup semi sweet chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter
  • 1/4 cup butter 
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 1/2 cups powdered sugar

Measure cereal into a large bowl. In a separate, microwaveable bowl, combine chocolate, peanut butter and butter. Microwave on high for one minute; stir. Microwave for 30 seconds longer or until mixture can be stirred smooth. Stir in vanilla. 

Pour over cereal. Mix throughly. Pour cereal into a 2 galling resealable bag. Add powdered sugar and shake until well coated. Spread on wax paper to cool. Store in an airtight container. 

Note – I like using a paper bag tondo the shaking. Not sure why but I like it. Also, I have found that you need more than 1 1/2 cups of sugar. I usually shake it up and then just pour some more on (no measuring) until I’m satisfied. 

This entry was posted in Appetizers, Chocolate and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

