Honey Orange French Toast

  
I feel a little proud of myself for “making up” this recipe which is a slight twist on your standard French toast. I had an interest in making French toast (completing the trifecta of breakfast foods – pancakes, waffles and French toast) the other day but wanted something different. I’ve made an orange French toast before but thought about adding honey for an extra kick. Plus, the bread I had was the Honey Wheat Bread I made recently and I thought that having a little extra honey in the egg mixture would be a good compliment. 

In the end, it worked okay. Two issues – one, my homemade bread didn’t hold up very well once it was wet with the egg mixture. I had to be very careful when flipping it and taking it out. A few pieces fell apart. Second, mauve it was the honey but I seemed to get a crust on one side of the bread – the first side I put down. It didn’t happen on the other side once I flipped it. And it stuck a little, which threatened to further disintegrate the bread. 

But I was able to carefully loosen it and get them flipped. Well, most of them. And they tasted fine. Not over the top great but pretty good. 

I don’t think it was too bad for something I “made up”. 

  • 4 eggs
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 1/4 cup orange juice
  • 2 tablespoons honey

Whisk all ingredients together. Dip bread and cook on griddle. It took about about 8 slices of bread to use up the mixture. 

This entry was posted in Bread, Breakfast and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

