The Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

  
Thank you Alton Brown. This is the first time in a very long time that I have made cookies without them spreading all over the pan and becoming very thin. Read his recipe here, which is a hack of the recipe that comes on the back of the Nestle Tollhouse chocolate chip bags. I also got rave reviews from everyone who ate them and the 2 1/2 dozen that I made lasted about two days. Which was ridiculously quick consider we always seem to have the cookies sitting around. But I guess that’s what happens when the cookies are really, really good. 

The changes he made to the standard recipe, outlined on the link above, are substituting part of an egg with milk, adjusting the ratio of white and brown sugar and using bread flour. I can’t say exactly which one of those (or if it was all three) that really helped keep the cookies from spreading out but I am going to try some of those adjustments with other cookies I want to make and some that I have made and want to try again. 

You definitely need to try this recipe. I have new confidence in making cookies again after trying this recipe. 

This entry was posted in Chocolate, Cookies and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

