Creamed Corn Cornbread

  
Awhile back I accidentally opened a can of creamed corn that I thought was regular corn. Considering I’m the only one who would eat it, I’m not sure why we had it in the cupboard to begin with but it was there. And now it was opened. I didn’t want to waste it but also knew that I couldn’t serve it that night for dinner which meant it went in the fridge for later. 

Having made some other dishes that were a combination of cornbread and creamed corn, I went in search of an actual cornbread recipe and found this one from the Food Network/Alton Brown. It is a pretty standard cornbread recipe with the addition of the creamed corn. It turned out to be good but I will say that I didn’t think it was as good as the corned bread recipe I normally make. You can read that recipe here

The only change I made to this was using sour milk in place of the buttermilk. I did find it interesting that it was only cornmeal as the other recipes (or at least the one I make) has a combination of flour and cornmeal. 

Anyway, this was still pretty good, especially with butter and honey all over it, but not as good as my “original”. 

This entry was posted in Bread, Side Dishes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

