Grilled Tilapia with Strawberry Salsa

  
This post is all about the strawberry salsa. Not to take away from the tilapia, but it is just a piece of fish. After seasoning the tilapia lightly with some lemon/pepper seasoning, I grilled them over medium heat, about 5 minutes or so on each side. 

The highlight, is you will, is the strawberry salsa. I got this recipe off of the Internet, somewhere. Sadly I once again just copied and pasted the recipe in an email and didn’t pay attention to where it came from. 

The salsa turned out very well. I did end up, not intentionally, with less kiwi as part of the recipe as planned due to one of the kiwis being bad. I also tried my best to really get the jalapeño de-seeded as well as cut both the jalapeño and red onion into small pieces. That was an attempt to try and mask the potential spicyness amongst the strawberries. It worked okay. You can’t really mask the entire flavor (not what I was trying to do) but it worked that you didn’t have a large chunk that you would suddenly bite into. It was still a bit much for the girls so I let them just eat the strawberry pieces out of what I had given them. 

The addition of the honey and lime juice brought it all together but I will say that it made it pretty liquid-y. To the point as I was portioning some of the leftover out to put in another container, I was using a slotted spoon to not get all the juice. If you don’t mind that, just let it go. If you do, maybe cut the liquid back a bit. I also found that the longer it sat (in the fridge) the juicier it got. Which may be a natural part of the process and everything joins together and starts to break down but after awhile, it’s really juicy. 

The salsa is a fairly versatile dish. The recipe calls for just serving it with chips but also had listed some other potential uses (such as a garnish on say, fish). It was also a nice change up and definitely what I would consider as  a “summer-y” dish. 

  • 3 cups strawberries, chopped (about 1 package)
  • 2 cups kiwi, peeled and chopped (I was going with two kiwis but then found one was bad)
  • 1 jalapeño, diced (I fully de-seeded mine)
  • 1/2 cup red onion, diced
  • 3 tablespoons honey
  • 3 tablespoons lime juice

Combine all ingredients in a bowl. Let sit in the fridge for at least 20 minutes before serving. Salsa could be made a day or so ahead of when you are wanting to use it. 

This entry was posted in Fruit, Grill and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

