Orange Glazed Pork Tenderloin

  
Ultimately, this was a very good tenderloin. But I will admit that I had some problems with it. You wouldn’t think it would be that difficult, given that you simply sear it, place it in the oven with some of the glaze and bake until it is done. However, the “until it is done” part is the problem. 

Quick show of hands – how many of you started cooking your pork to only 145 degrees once the FDA came out and said that was fine? Anyone? Well I have. Not quite all the time but I do tend to lean towards that temp. I’m not sure why exactly. Maybe it’s a desire to have it be tender and juicy or the fact that I like my steaks medium rare or simple impatience of not wanting to wait any longer. But, anyway you look at it, I tend to cut open the meat and instantly be unhappy with the result. For whatever reason, once I see that it is still a little pink, I think “I can’t do this” and I have to redo something. I stick it back in the oven or back on the grill. 

This time I had cut enough of it into pieces that I didn’t feel like I could just pop it back in the oven until it was done. Instead, since I had a pan full of the drippings and glaze, I reheated the pan slightly and cooked the pieces (both sides) in the pan for a little bit. It did change the color from the nice white to a brown color BUT, I actually think that this worked out better. It feel that in doing this there was more of the orange glaze flavor. Plus I felt good that the pieces were actually “done”. 

This recipe came from the November 2013 issue of Cooking Light. It included a recipe for Cranberry Tabbouleh but I didn’t make it and I am not including it here. 

  • 1/3 cup orange marmalade
  • 2 tablespoons rice vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon of soy sauce
  • 1/2 teaspoon crushed red pepper (I skipped)
  • 1 tablespoon peanut oil (I used canola)
  • 1 (1 pound) pork tenderloin (mine was 1.5 pounds)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Combine the first four ingredients in a medium bowl, stirring with a whisk to combine. 

Heat a large oven proof skillet over medium high heat (we use cast iron). Add oil, swirling to coat. Brown tenderloin on all sides. Top with half the glaze and put into the oven. After 10 minutes, flip tenderloin and top with the remaining glaze. Continue baking until it has reached the desired level of doneness. 

Let stand for 10 minutes before cutting. 

This entry was posted in Pork and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

