Biscuit Topped Chicken Potpie

  

This is the last recipe I wanted to make out of the September 2013 issue of Cooking Light magazine. Sadly it didn’t turn out so well. I admit that I made a few changes but I’m not sure that the changes I made would have affected it that much, especially the biscuits. 

The recipe is written out below. I’ve listed what I changed next to it. Overall I felt like there was a little bit of flavor but not a lot and that hurt the dish. While I used two types of chicken I don’t think that took away from it. For the biscuits, I don’t know. I did what it said but they seemed to come out really thin and small. I should have done what I had thought about which was cut strips to make a lattice or simply dropped chunks of dough instead of cutting them out. 

  • 1 tablespoon canola oil
  • 1 1/2 cups chopped onion (I used closer to 1 cup)
  • 1 cup chopped carrot (I used a little more than this)
  • 1/2 cup chopped celery (I skipped)
  • 1 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1.1 ounces (about 1/4 cup) all purpose flour (I did weigh it)
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt 
  • 1/4 teaspoon black pepper
  • 4 cups chicken stock
  • 2 cups shredded, cooked chicken (I used 8 ounces of ground chicken and 8 ounces of a boneless chicken breast cut into small, thin peices)
  • 1 cup frozen peas (maybe a touch more)
  • 1 3/4 ounce package fresh poultry herbs (I used 1 teaspoon of ground poultry blend)

Biscuits

  • 4.5 ounces all purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 cup cold, cubed butter
  • 1/3 cup buttermilk (I used whole milk)

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.

Heat oil in large saucepan over medium high heat. Add onion, carrot and celery; saute for 4 minutes. Add garlic and saute for 30 seconds. Stir flour, salt and pepper into the vegetables. Cook 1 minute, stirring constantly. Stir in stock. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat to medium; simmer 8 minutes, stirring occasionally. Stir in chicken and peas; simmer 5 minutes. Remove from heat. 

Remove Rosemary from herb package and save for another use. Strip leaves from stems and chop to measure 2 tablespoons. Stir into filling. Pour filling into a 2 quart baking dish sprayed with cooking spray. (I managed with a 1 1/2 quart dish.)

To prepare the biscuits, combine the flour and baking soda in a bowl. Cut in the butter with a pastry blender or two knives until it resembles coarse meal. Stir in buttermilk. Turn dough onto a lightly floured surface; knead gently 5 to 6 times. Roll into a 9″ circle and cut with a 2″ round biscuit cutter, retooling the scraps. 

Arrange biscuits over the filling; coat with cooking spray (I didn’t do this, which may have been an issue). Bake at 425 degrees for 35 minutes or until browned (well, I got that part right). 

This entry was posted in Chicken and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

