Peach and Pepper Salsa

  

The same relative who suggested the New Mexico Style enchiladas (see previous post) made a few other suggestions from a family cookbook. This wasn’t one of them specifically but happened to be on the same page as some of the recipes. As I like anything with peaches, I thought I should give it a try. 

Although there is a lot of work involved with making this – lots and lots of chopping (very time consuming) – it turned out to be pretty good. It is a mild salsa and the peaches do give it a distinct flavor. I will say that it does make a lot. Unless you are making this for a party, or plan on eating a lot of salsa, I’d recommend halving the recipe or figuring a way to store it. Canning it would be good. Plus if you were to go that route, you could even make more than this recipe so you have many jars for later. 

Below is the recipe from the cookbook. I made a few slight changes, most of of necessity than preference. The peaches I bought were on the small side so I used five instead of four. And I used only five tomatoes instead of six as I needed a tomato for the enchiladas and had forgotten to buy one specifically for that. Had I not needed to do that, I would have used all six tomatoes. And I used white sugar in place of the brown sugar as I had run out of brown sugar and hadn’t made it to the store to get more.  I skipped the hot sauce but increased that dashes of Tabasco (I think it was six instead of one). 

I also let it simmer for a lot longer than the five minutes. It just didn’t seem to be very thick and I figured it wouldn’t hurt too much. It was closer to 20 minutes. In the end it didn’t seem that thick but once it cooled and had been in the fridge, it was okay. 

  • 6 green chilies, seeded and diced 
  • 1 large red bell pepper, seeded and diced
  • 1 small jalapeño, seeded and diced
  • 1 large onion, diced
  • 4 fresh peaches, diced
  • 6 Roma tomatoes, diced
  • 1 (8 oz.) can tomato sauce
  • 2 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • Dash of pepper
  • 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1 tablespoon red hot sauce
  • Dash of Tabasco
  • 1 cup cider vinegar

Place peppers and onions in a large pot. Pour enough boiling water over the pepper and onions to just cover them. For me it was about four cups. Let stand five minutes. 

Drain of water. Add remaining ingredients. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer for about 5 minutes, stirring occasionally, or until mixture has thickened. 

This entry was posted in Appetizers, Fruit and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

