Enchiladas – New Mexico Style

  

As I have mentioned before, I am somewhat of a sucker for Mexican food. So, when a relative suggested I try this I needed to give it a whirl. It is a unique dish, in my opinion, but overall I liked it. I’m not sure about everyone else though and I can say that the girls thought the sauce was “spicy” although I bought a can of mild. But they still ate it. 

This recipe below is how it was shared with me. They did tell me that it varies a little from the original, mainly in the type of beef used and that the sauce was normally homemade. The recipe below is for two servings. I made it as described with the only change being that I made it for three servings. All that meant is that I distributed the quantities listed below over three. I didn’t increase anything. I did use a full pound of beef, skipped the sour cream and used 6 tortillas to make the third plate. Which also meant that I had a third egg. Also, as you can see from the picture, I didn’t pour the rest of the can of sauce over the plate. 

For the egg, it is a little different but it works. And I would think that it needs to be an over easy as described. Part of the flavor, for me, was the yolk running down and mixing with everything else. Just putting a fried egg on top would do much, in my opinion. 

I used canola oil in a shallow, small frying pan to do the tortillas. It varied on the length of time but was about 30 seconds per side. A couple got a little extra done on the edges. 

I recommend giving it a try. 

  • 3/4 -1 lb. lean ground beef
  • 1 can red enchilada sauce 
  • 4 corn tortillas
  • 2 c. shredded iceberg lettuce
  • 1/4 c. chopped onion
  • 1 small tomato, chopped
  • 1 c. shredded cheddar cheese
  • sour cream, optional
  • oil for frying tortillas
  • 2 eggs, fried over-easy

Cook ground beef, keeping it separated in fine chunks, until well done. Heat enchilada sauce. To assemble, put a bed of lettuce on plate. Fry tortillas, 1 at a time, dip in enchilada sauce and place on lettuce. Add a little more lettuce, ground beef, tomato, onion and cheese. Repeat. Top with fried egg. Fix second plate. Pour remaining enchilada sauce evenly over both. Top with a dollop of sour cream.  

This entry was posted in Beef and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

