Pork Tacos with Mango Slaw

 This was a nice alternative to the typical taco and/or Mexican food we make. In fact, I’d say that it is completely different. Other than calling it a “taco” there isn’t anything here that, to me, tastes like “Mexican” food. That’s not to say that it wasn’t good, which it was. 

It is pretty light on the seasoning of the meat with the bulk of the flavor coming in the slaw. I skipped a couple of items in the slaw – green onions and red pepper – as well as using lettuce instead of cabbage. I realize that by using the lettuce I have probably changed it enough to no longer call it “slaw” but I didn’t want a head of cabbage sitting around needing to be used up. Sometimes I wind up being pretty minimalistic when it comes to cooking, trying to adjust so I don’t buy things I’m never going to use again or that will take me a long time to use up. Just check out my spice cabinet. 

I also used small flour tortillas in place of the corn. I did have the corn tortillas but also had a package of the small flour ones and I’m the only one that likes the corn tortillas. 

For the meat, I think it took a little longer than what was suggested for baking it. I used a meat thermometer which was in the whole time so I never paid attention to the time it took. I much prefer that, and use the thermometer for lots of things to ensure the food is done the first time I go to take it out. 

This was a good meal and something I’d recommend. 

Recipe taken from the September 2013 issue of Cooking Light magazine. 

  • 2 tablespoons of canola oil, divided
  • 1 (12 ounce) pork tenderloin, trimmed
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt, divided
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 1 1/2 cups sliced green cabbage
  • 1 cup chopped ripe mango (one mango)
  • 1/2 cup thinly sliced radishes
  • 1/3 cup diagonally sliced green onions
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground red pepper
  • 2 tablespoons fresh lime juice
  • 1 ripe, peeled avocado, chopped
  • 8 (6 inch) corn tortillas 

Preheat oven to 425 degrees. 

Heat an oven proof skillet over medium high heat.  Add 1 tablespoon oil; swirl to coat. Sprinkle pork with 1/4 teaspoon salt and the pepper. Add pork to the pan; cook 4 minutes. Turn pork over in pan; place in oven. Bake for 12 minutes or until it reaches the desired level of doneness. Remove pork from pan. Let rest 10 minutes; cut pork across the grain into thin slices. 

Combine remaining tablespoon of oil, cabbage and next 4 ingredients in a bowl. In a separate bowl, combine the avocado and lime juice. Add avocado mixture to the cabbage mixture. Sprinkle with remaining 1/4 teaspoon of salt. Toss gently to combine. 

Heat tortillas according to the package directions. Divide pork evenly among the tortillas, top with the cabbage mixture. 

This entry was posted in Pork and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

