Broccoli Cheese Soup

  

Last week it was unseasonably cool here. In fact, we went from having the air on, to the windows open to the heat on and back again. So having found this recipe in the September 2013 issue of Cooking Light seemed to fit pretty well. 

Believe or not, I didn’t make any changes to the recipe but I did use my stick blender to purée it rather than pouring it in the blender. I felt like I would make a mess trying to get it in the blender plus not all of it would have fit and it seemed more complicated to do it in batches. And I have a stick blender so why not use it?

I think it worked okay but I had to make sure I was getting everything hit and not leaving chunks of stuff. I’m not sure how well that worked in the end. The soup was both thick and runny if that makes sense. Lots of thickness from the broccoli, carrots, etc. but it didn’t seem to combine well with the chicken stock and half and half so it did separate fairly easily. My picture doesn’t look like the picture from the magazine. 

From a taste perspective it was okay. Not great and maybe not something I will do again. There was a slight kick to it, enough that I noticed but not enough that it stopped anyone from eating it. 

Oh and I weighed out the broccoli as it said 1 3/4 cups which was about 8 ounces. Well, the 8 ounces I weighed out was a lot more than 1 3/4 cups. I don’t know if there is something I wasn’t doing right but it didn’t match. Maybe I needed to use less broccoli and that would have helped. I know looking at everything in the pot I kept thinking it was a lot of “stuff” compared to the amount of liquid. 

  • 3 cups chicken stock
  • 1 3/4 cups broccoli florets, coarsely chopped (about 8 ounces)
  • 1 cup diced yellow onion
  • 1/2 cup chopped carrot
  • 3/8 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 3/4 cup half and half
  • 4 ounces shredded cheddar cheese, divided
  • 1/4 cup fresh parsley leaves (I skipped this actually)

Combine first 7 ingredients in a large pot. Bring to a boil then lower heat and simmer 10 minutes or until broccoli is tender. Pour into a blender, secure lid leaving the the center hole open to allow steam to escape. Cover with a towel to prevent splattering. Blend until smooth. 

Return soup to the pan. Stir in half and half and 2 ounces of cheese. Top each bowl evenly with remaining cheese (will make 4 bowls). 

This entry was posted in Soup, Vegetable and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

