Pork Scaloppine with Mustard Pan Sauce

  

Continuing to work my way through the September 2013 issue of Cooking Light magazine we come to this recipe. This was a nice alternative from other pork chop type recipes. Buying a tenderloin and pounding down the pieces worked really well and definitely cut the cooking time. Which was nice. I tried to buy a tenderloin that was a close to one pound as I could get. But really, the size of the tenderloin doesn’t matter that much. It just means you have extra pieces or the pieces are just a little bigger. I got them all cut into 12 pieces pretty easily. It’s an even number so I cut the tenderloin into four pieces and then cut each piece into three pieces. Worked a lot better then trying to start on one end and make it work. 
Before I get to the recipe details I’ll tell you that it was paired with with some baked sweet potato fries. I julienned a (very) large sweet potato, tossed the pieces with olive oil and sprinkled it with some garlic salt. They turned out pretty good although you could really taste the garlic salt. Plus, I can tell you that I would lose any cooking competition that focuses on knife skills. I’m okay but, I never seem to get everything to be the same size. 

  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper
  • 1 pound pork tenderloin, cut into 12 pieces, pounded to 1/4 inch thickness
  • 1 tablespoon canola oil, divided
  • 1/4 cups minced shallots (I used onion)
  • 2 teaspoons minced garlic (about 2 large cloves)
  • 1/2 cups chicken stock
  • 2 tablespoons Dijon mustard
  • 3 tablespoons sour cream

Sprinkle pork evenly with the salt and pepper. Heat a large skillet over medium high heat. Add 1 teaspoon of canola oil. Add 6 cutlets; cook 2 minutes on each side or until done. Remove from pan; repeat process with oil and remaining 6 cutlets. Remove from pan

Add remaining oil to the pan. Add shallots and garlic to the pan; cook 2 minutes stirring occasionally. Add stock and mustard. Cook 1 minutes, scraping pan to loosen browned bits. Stir in sour cream; cook 1 minute. 

I added the pork back to the pan and let it cook for a few minutes, more to let the pork reheat than anything else. 

This entry was posted in Pork and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

