Cheesy Chicken and Pepper Subs

  

This recipe comes from the September 2013 issue of Cooking Light magazine. I made a few tweaks to the recipe so the recipe more or less inspired the dish. The main points are there, just the execution is a little different. 

Here is the recipe –

  • 4 whole wheat hoagie rolls
  • 1 tablespoons canola oil
  • 1 pound chicken breast tenders
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground pepper
  • 1 large yellow bell pepper, julienne cut
  • 1/2 cup marinara sauce
  • 1/2 cup shredded mozzarella cheese

Preheat broiler to high. Hollow out the bottoms of the hoagie rolls. Place rolls, cut side up on a pan and broil for about 1 minute or until toasted. 

Heat oil in a large non-stick skillet over medium heat. Sprinkle chicken evenly with oregano, salt and pepper. Add chicken to the pan and cook for about 7 minutes, stirring occasionally. Add pepper to the pan and cook for about 2 minutes or until pepper is soft and the chicken is done. Stir in the marinara sauce and cook for about 30 seconds or until heated through. 

Place chicken mixture onto the bottom half of the rolls. Sprinkle evenly with cheese and broil for about 1 minute or until the cheese is melted. 

Here is what I did – 

  • I used some whole wheat sub buns. As such I didn’t hollow anything out. Nor did I toast them first. 
  • We had some leftover chicken from a rotisserie chicken that I took off the bone. In weighing it, it was just over a pound. I used that chicken for this. I still seasoned it as stated. 
  • I still put it in the pan with the oil to heat it up but didn’t need to cook it as long. 
  • Since there was more chicken, and a half cup seemed like not very much once I put it in the pan I doubled the amount of marinara sauce.
  • I placed the chicken mix on the buns in sort of an open face sandwich style and topped with the cheese. 
  • After broiling them I was able to fold them back over to make the sandwich. If I hadn’t been able to do that I would have just eaten it open faced. 

This was a decent sandwich. Nothing super special about it but I will say that it was a pretty quick meal to put together, which the recipe stated was one of the benefits. 

This entry was posted in Chicken and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

