Baked Risotto with Bacon and Peas

  

Finishing up the last of the recipes from Mother’s Day, we have a baked risotto. I was looking for a somewhat simple side and had a package of risotto in the cupboard. Knowing that risotto can be time consuming and not so simple in my opinion, I wanted to find a baked version. I had made one before that I thought about making again but really wanted something different. A quick internet search led be to this recipe for a baked risotto with bacon and peas. I think I was sold at “bacon”. 

As we were having about 11 people over, I chose to double this recipe. In the end it wasn’t necessary at all to do that as we had a lot leftover. However, that let us share the leftovers with those that were there as everyone really liked the dish. 

I only made two adjustments with the recipe. The store was out of fresh basil (at least I couldn’t find it) but they did have this tube of fresh, organic basil paste. It is supposed to be used in a one to one ratio (one tablespoon of fresh basil = one tablespoon of the paste). I bought it to try it. I didn’t measure it out but it looked to be about a half a cup in the tube. Which means that although I doubled the recipe, I ended up not doubling the amount of basil. But it still worked. 

I also decided to use a whole stick of butter. It calls for two or three tablespoons of butter. In doubling it, I was going to go with six tablespoons and then decided to use the whole stick. It was already a little thicker than I expected it to have been so I figured another couple of tablespoons of butter would be ok. 

That was the only thing I wasn’t happy with about this dish, the thickness of it, but it really didn’t make that big of a deal. It was still a very good dish. It did take a little longer than expected to make but at the point I was at with the leg of lamb taking too long (see previous post) it really didn’t matter. It all got done about the same time. 

This entry was posted in Bacon, Side Dishes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

