Boneless Leg of Lamb

  

I think I’ve mentioned before but having in-laws with sheep allows us access to get lamb on a regular basis. Or at least once a year when we buy a whole lamb. Which means then that there are additional options when it comes to meal planning as well as large meal planning. Having a couple of legs of lamb already in the freezer makes it a lot easier to throw that out as an option. 

For Mother’s Day this year I decided to go the lamb route. Using the leg of lamb roasts that I had. Yes, I said roasts as in plural. I had two, both boneless, each about 3 pounds. With there being about a dozen people at the house I decided to use both. That would ensure that there was plenty to go around and let there be some leftovers. Plus, I’m big on making sure there is an over abundance of food anyway. In the end, there was plenty. One might have worked but I was glad there was a second one. 

I have a couple of marinades that I’ve used before when making lamb but had another one suggested by a lady in a cooking group I belong to that I wanted to try. All credit on this marinade goes to her, although I had to figure out my own quantities. 

Here is what I used, splitting it evenly (more or less) between two bags (one for each roast). I suppose I could I have put both in a big bag but I didn’t. 

  • 1 bottle red wine (I used a blend, Apothic Red)
  • 2/3 cup olive oil
  • 2 teaspoons fresh rosemary, chopped
  • 3 garlic cloves, chopped
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • Fresh ground pepper (hard to measure out of the grinder but I had a few good turns in each bag)

I took the netting off of each roast and placed it in the bag (with the netting). They sat in the marinade for over 24 hours. When it was time to roast, I let the liquid drain off but didn’t wipe off any Rosemary or garlic that was stuck on it. I rolled them back up, placed them back in the netting and put them in a deep 9×13 pan. I roasted them at 350 until done. I had a meat thermometer stuck in it and was tracking the progress (looking for it to be “medium” which was about 150 degrees). It took way too long but that is, again, the problem with my oven. 
I felt it turned out really well and everyone there liked it. Lamb can often have a different taste and not everyone likes it. My wife isn’t that big of a lamb fan but thought it was good and that it didn’t “taste like lamb”. I think that is success right there.  

This entry was posted in Lamb and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

