Chicken Salad Melts

  

I am trying to get back into the swing of cooking more regularly. Not that we’ve stopped cooking, but I feel I’ve gotten out of the routine of meal planning. Plus I still have a huge stack of magazines and other recipe sources I’ve never even looked at. Which led to me sitting down the other day and going through an entire magazine, marking every recipe I wanted to try out. Then I had to look at the calendar and determine how many I could put on the list to make in the next week. I settled on four, trying to balance the nights in which I’d be gone and the aspect of needing some nights to eat leftovers. It can be difficult at times to plan meals, etc. but you have to make a commitment to get it done. 

This was one of the first recipes I pulled out of the magazine (September 2013 issue of Cooking Light). As I’ve said before, my choice of recipes comes down to usually two things – does it sound good and/or does it sound interesting. This fell into the first category primarily as there is/was nothing overly interesting about the recipe. 

The recipe in its entirety is below. I made a few tweaks. I cut the recipe in half as I used a can of chicken wiphich amounted to only one cup. I used dried dill (1/2 a teaspoon). I skipped the green onions and, for what it is worth, used plain iceberg lettuce. Also, I have to admit that I managed to grab a bag of fat free shredded cheddar cheese on accident. I wasn’t paying attention when I was at the store and was more focused on it being cheddar than anything else. It worked but not very well. You can see in the picture that it is melted but not very well. It actually started to brown on the top before it was fully melted. Which may have happened no matter what cheese I used. We have problems with the oven.

Oh, and although I cut the recipe in half, which would have made three, I used it to make four. It just meant spreading a little less on each one. I did start with the 1/3 measuring cup and it did work out pretty much exactly for three of them. 

  • 2 cups shredded, boneless rotisserie chicken breast
  • 1/4 cup Greek yogurt
  • 1/4 cup canola mayonnaise (I used “regular” mayo)
  • 2 teaspoons chopped, fresh dill
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 3 green onions, thinly sliced
  • 6 whole wheat English muffins, split and toasted (I didn’t use whole wheat and, now that I re-read this, I didn’t toast them)
  • 3 ounces shredded cheddar cheese (about 3/4 cup)
  • 3/4 cup thinly sliced Apple
  • 6 Bibb lettuce leaves

Preheat the broiler to high. Combine the first 7 ingredients in a medium bowl. Place about 1/3 cup of the mix onto each English muffin bottom. Top evenly with cheese. Broil for 1 minute or until the cheese melts. Top evenly with the apple, lettuce and top halves of the English muffins. 

This entry was posted in Chicken and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

