Smokey Hamburger Cauliflower Casserole

 

This was fantastic. I know you can use cauliflower as a substitute for a lot of different things (like potatoes) so I was intrigued to see how it might work in this where you are substituting for pasta. At least that is what I estimated it was a substitute for. This dish felt a little like it was a “mac and cheese” type dish but with cauliflower instead of pasta. Regardless, it worked really well. 

You can read the original blog post here.  It talks about it being a low carb recipe. Nothing wrong with that but I mention that to point out that I made a change to use a can of cream of mushroom soup rather than making my own soup as the recipe states. I happened to read some of the comments on the post and someone asked about doing that. That author stated that it would make it much less of a (true) low carb recipe if you did that. Now, I wasn’t worried about it being low carb so I did anyway. It was certainly much easier (quicker) to use the premade soup. I also left out the pepper, unintentionally. I just plain forgot. It was fine without it (my opinion). 

I did use the whole head of cauliflower. While we would have certainly eaten the leftover cauliflower I purposefully bought a smaller head (compared to the others in the store) in order to just be able to use it all. I also used 8 ounces of smoked Gouda. Again, much easier to use the whole package than leave a small piece. Although I did eat a little of it as I was shredding it so maybe it was closer to the 6 ounces to begin with.  And I did use dried parsley flakes. 

In the end, not quite like the original recipe but pretty close. And definitely worth giving a try. 

This entry was posted in Casserole, Vegetable and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

