Southwestern Chopped Salad with Cilantro Dressing

  

There is a running joke with myself and some others about how I (and others) don’t like to eat things that are green. While some people might truly not like green stuff, I don’t mind it even if I don’t eat a lot of it. Which made making this kind of fun as it went against my “dislike” for green stuff. But really, I just wanted to make this as I thought it was an interesting recipe. Which is pretty much the reason I make anything. 

And it turned out pretty well. It was a nice combination with, in my opinion, the black beans “making” the dish. Actually, all of it together was great. Even the tomatoes which I really don’t care for. But I’m trying. 

The only downside of this is that the recipe makes a lot. I should have cut it back a little bit as neither of the girls were going to eat it, at least as a meal. Which led to leftovers which needed to be eaten before it all went bad. Or at least the lettuce went bad. I did make a few tweaks but it was mostly on the quantities of things. 

Southwestern Chop Salad

  • Large head of romaine lettuce (about 15 ounce) (I used half romain, half iceberg)
  • 1 large orange bell pepper (I used two medium)
  • 1 pint cherry tomatoes (I didn’t use the entire pint)
  • 2 cups corn (fresh or frozen, thawed)
  • 5 green onions (I skipped)
  • Avocado (optional, I skipped)

Cilantro Dressing

  • 1 cup loosely packed cilantro (it said to remove stems but I left them in – more flavor)
  • 1/2 avocado or 1/2 cup plain Greek yogurt (I used the yogurt)
  • 2 tablespoons lime juice
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons white wine vinegar
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt

For the dressing, purée all ingredients in a food processor until smooth. Adjust seasonings as needed to taste. 

For the salad, chop all ingredients and mix together. Portion salad and top with dressing. 

This entry was posted in Appetizers, Side Dishes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

