Maple Glazed Bacon Doughnuts

   

I haven’t been doing much cooking lately, or at least much cooking that I felt warrants a blog post. So what better way to try and restart the cooking than with some bacon doughnuts? Sounds like a plan to me. 

You can read the recipe here. I made a few small changes, specifically I used mostly whole wheat flour (just shy of 1 cup on the all purpose flour) and I used dark brown sugar. Now, the recipe doesn’t specify what type of brown sugar to use, but I normally use light brown sugar. I used the dark brown as we found a package while cleaning the cupboards out and I figured we might as well use it up. I also opted to use the maple flavoring over the vanilla to give it an extra boost of flavor. 

I thought these turned out very well, as did others that ate them, although from a presentation standpoint the look a little, well, “off”.  The recipe said to fill each opening to the top (which took about 1/3 cup of the batter if you are wondering). That’s all well and good but that creates a problem when it then rises up and over the edges, creating a misshapen doughnut. See picture above. It would probably be best to not fill it completely full to try and prevent that. But then that would leave extra batter. As it stood already, I probably had enough batter left to make one more doughnut. That’s fine, but it just seems like a waste. 

The glaze turned out well but it wasn’t enough to cover all the doughnuts. Then again, maybe I should have tried dipping the doughnut in the glaze rather than trying to spoon it over the top. 

All in all it was a good doughnut. It did, as the recipe stated, taste a little like a pancake with bacon and syrup which was cool. 

This entry was posted in Bacon, Breakfast and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Maple Glazed Bacon Doughnuts

  1. Hailey says:

    Wow! I love a good sweet-savory combo, and anything with bacon! Bravo

Leave a Reply

