Biscuit Cinnamon Rolls

 

I was a little hesitant in trying to make this as I’ve had trouble everytime I tried to make monkey bread (cut up biscuits mixed with stuff). Essentially, that’s what this is, minus cutting it up.  But I’m not one to shy away (too much) from trying something again so I gave it another go. 

This time, it turned out great. I don’t know if it was the oven (ours is a little wonky and we were not at home) or if it was the amount of biscuits or whatever. Usually the problem is the inside of the ring doesn’t cook while the outside starts to get overdone. But not this time. I even let it go a little longer than the recommended time just to make sure they would be done with no adverse effects. 

The only problem I had was that the plate moved a little when I went to flip it which caused some of the sauce to run out. But that was pretty minor considering all the things that could have gone wrong.  I definitely recommend it. 

This was another recipe floating around on Facebook. 

  • 1 tube Pilsbury Grands Biscuits (I did use this brand. You could use a store brand as long as there is the same amount and it is the same type of biscuit.)
  • 3 tablespoons butter, melted
  • 1/2 cup syrup (any brand/type – I used pure maple syrup)
  • 1/3 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/4 cup chopped pecans, optional (I used these)
  • 1/4 cup chopped almonds, optional (didn’t use these)

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Spray a fluted pan with non-stick spray. 

Combine the melted butter and syrup. In another bowl, combine brown sugar, cinnamon and nuts (if using). 

Pour about half of the syrup mixture into the bottom of the pan. The sprinkle half of the brown sugar mixture in the bottom of the pan. Lay the biscuits on the bottom of the pan, overlapping the edges, to form a ring. Top with remaining syrup and brown sugar mixtures. 

Bake for 20-25 minutes or until golden brown. Cool in pan for 1 minutes,my hen invert onto a plate/serving platter. 

NOTE – it says you can use more biscuits if you feel that there are not enough. I only used one tube and, after it was all done cooking, thought it was plenty. If you do use more biscuits you will need to increase the time it takes to bake. 

This entry was posted in Breakfast and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

