Cherry Coffee Cake Bars

  

This is another recipe out of the St. John’s Lutheran Church (Berlin, WI) cookbook (the “blue one”). A lot less frustration with this recipe than the last one I tried. In fact there wasn’t any frustration at all. And it looked/tasted good. Success all around. 

The only thing I may do differently in the future (or suggest to you) is dropping smaller pieces of the dough on the top. I think it would look better, and provide better coverage over the top, if the drops were smaller. It would mean that there were more of them and I think that would work better. Oh and I used a hand mixer but a stand mixer would work much better (I think) for putting everything together. Okay, that was two suggestions. 

It also suggested frosting the bars (powdered sugar and milk mixture) but I opted not to. Partly because I didn’t feel I had enough coverage on the top dough to make it work. And partly because I didn’t feel it was necessary. These were good either warm or cold. Or somewhere in the middle. 

  • 1 cup of butter, softened (2 sticks)
  • 1 1/4 cup sugar
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3 cups all purpose flour 
  • 1 (21 ounce) can cherry pie filling 

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. 

Cream together the butter and sugar. Add eggs, one at a time, beating after each addition to incorporate. Add remaining ingredients (I added the flour in stages) and mix until incorporated. 

Spread 2/3 of the dough into a greased 9×13 pan. Spread the pie filling over the top of the dough. Drop the remaining dough on top of the pie filling by the spoonful. 

Bake for 30-40 minutes (I went closer to the 40). Let cool slightly before cutting into squares. I got about 12 decent sized squares out of it. 

This entry was posted in Breakfast, Cake and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

