Pumpkin Cobbler

  

I have to admit that when I think of “cobbler”, pumpkin doesn’t jump to the top of the list. But here we are with a recipe. It was interesting enough that I decided I needed to try it. Plus, the recipe was shared on the Woodford Reserve Facebook page, and called for a little bit of Woodford as part of the recipe, so that motivated me to try it as well. 

But then, sadly, I didn’t even use any Woodford. Long story short, being out of town when I made this and opting to not go buy a new bottle of Woodford (and not seeing it at the one store I went to) I used some Jack Daniels instead. Twice as much in fact. Not because I was switching the types but after putting in the amount it called for — 1 teaspoon — it seemed like not very much. Plus I knew that the actual alcohol would disappear during baking, leaving the taste, so I figured, why not?  In the end, I couldn’t taste the Jack. I’m sure it added a little something but it wasn’t noticeable. I think it could easily be left out and it wouldn’t change the dish. 

I felt this turned out very well and everyone that ate it thought it was great. There was only a little bit left out of the 9×13 pan (granted there were 11 of us). It was a little hard to get a good picture as the top turned a very nice golden brown color which blended right in with the dark orange bottom. 

Regardless, this is going on the list to make in the future. 

  • 1 (30 ounce) can pumpkin
  • 1 (12 ounce) can evaporated milk
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon Woodford Reserve
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon ground cloves
  • 1 box white or yellow cake mix
  • 1 1/2 sticks of butter, melted
  • Chopped pecans (optional)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Mix all ingredients except for cake mix, butter and pecans. Pour into a greased 9×13 pan (or eight 7 ounce ramekins). 

Sprinkle dry cake mix over the top. Drizzle with the melted butter. 

Bake at 350 degrees for 1 hour (9×13) or 40 minutes (ramekins). If using chopped pecans, sprinkle on top during the last 10 minutes of baking. 

Serve warm. It went well, believe it or not, with vanilla ice cream. 

This entry was posted in Cobbler and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

