Crispy Bacon Grilled Cheese Rollups

  

What makes a grilled cheese sandwich better?  Bacon of course!  Granted bacon makes everything better but I was a little surprised at how much better this was with the bacon. I’m sure there are many different ways to incorporate bacon into a grilled cheese sandwich (I’m thinking of a couple right now) but this was a fun way to put it together. 

You can see the original recipe here, although it is pretty self explanatory.   You take some white bread, flatten it, add some cheese and roll it up, finishing with a piece of bacon wrapped around it. Fry in butter. Tasty. 

I had attempted this a few weeks ago using some bread I had made but it didn’t work very well so I think that the white bread is needed. I chose to used shredded cheese (sharp cheddar to be exact) rather than a sliced of processed cheese. It was a little harder to roll up but I think it turned out better in the end. 

I did chose to use some pre-cooked bacon. Ultimately I think it worked better than trying to cook some bacon – partway – and then use it. I melted the entire 1/4 cup of butter in the pan and then placed all 6 (that’s all I chose to make) in the pan. I let them soak up a bit of the butter and then flipped them to do the same on the other side. Then I proceeded to grill/fry them. Because of the toothpicks holding the bacon on (and holding it all together) you could really only do two sides but in the end it worked out pretty well. 

I paired this with some tomato soup (grilled cheese + tomato soup right?). It worked pretty well together and made it easy to dip the sandwich in the soup. 

This entry was posted in Bacon and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

