Blackberry Vanilla Vodka Lemonade

 

Flipping through the the August 2013 issue of Cooking Light magazine (the one I’ve slowly been working my way through) I found a list of 6 different variations on lemonade. There are several I will end up trying. Some have an alcohol component and some do not. This one was one that did. 

At first I was a little concerned over how much vodka there was compared to everything else but after getting all the blackberry mix strained, I felt better. There was quite a bit of the blackberry mixture when it was all done. Which makes sense if you think about it – it called for 3 cups of blackberries. Wouldn’t there be (about) 3 cups of the mix?

Anyway, I think it turned out well although I might skip the vanilla next time. Or just use a bit of extract to flavor it. It turned out that I never got the vanilla to mix in (despite all my stirring) and ended up with a chunk of it in my glass. Didn’t taste the greatest. Plus, to be honest, vanilla beans are pretty expensive. Didn’t really seem worth it. 

I used 2 1/2 pints of blackberries and chose to use bottled lemon juice in place of the fresh. I had intended to measure out the 3 cups from the 3 pints I had bought but one managed to open up in the trunk and spill all over the place which led me to decide to just use the rest without measuring. 

And if you are looking to make this for a group you will need to increase the recipe. It made enough to fill four glasses (the ones in my picture). 

  • 3 cups fresh blackberries
  • 6 tablespoons granulated sugar
  • 1/2 vanilla bean, scraped
  • 1 1/2 cups vodka
  • 1/2 cup (fresh) lemon juice

Place blackberries and sugar in a food processor; process until blended. Press mixture through a fine mesh sieve into a pitcher. Add lemon juice, vodka and vanilla bean seeds. Stir to combine.  Serve over ice. 

This entry was posted in Alcohol and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Blackberry Vanilla Vodka Lemonade

  1. Pingback: Peachy Bourbon Lemonade | A Casual Foodie's Blog

Leave a Reply

