Dessert Toast with Apples and Ricotta



Now, while I hadn’t made cinnamon swirl bread in awhile, the real reason I wanted to make that bread was to be able to make this dessert/appetizer dish.   The base of the dish is the cinnamon swirl bread. I had found this recipe on Facebook in an add for Ziploc.  It seemed a little strange that Ziploc was putting out recipes but hey, to each their own. 

It is pretty simple to put together, as long as you have some cinnamon swirl bread. And you certainly don’t have to make your own, you can buy it from the store. However, this gave me an excuse to make the bread which I hadn’t made in quite awhile. 

From a presentation standpoint I think these look great. From a taste standpoint they were okay. It tasted good but by the time I had a chance to grab one, it had sat there for awhile so the bread wasn’t as crunchy as it may have been at the very beginning. 

The only change I made to the recipe listed below is that I chose to toast the bread lightly in the toaster, rather than in a pan with butter. It was quicker, and I was under a bit of a time crunch. I also cut each of those into four pieces to make it easier to share amongst the group. 

You will need – 

Cinnamon swirl bread

Ricotta

Granny Smith apples

Honey

Butter

Toast bread in a non-stick pan with butter. Spread each slice with ricotta cheese. Top with sliced apples and drizzle with honey. 

This entry was posted in Appetizers, Bread, Dessert, Fruit and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dessert Toast with Apples and Ricotta

  1. simplydelish says:

    Yum! Now that is my kind of toast!

Leave a Reply

