Whole Wheat Pretzel Bites



The last time I tried to make pretzels it didn’t work out so well. So I admit that when I found this recipe for pretzel bites, I was a little hesitant. But then I thought that one of my original problems had been that ultimately the pretzels had gotten too big and unwieldy that they just didn’t work well. But these were “bites” – intentionally smaller pieces. That gave me some extra courage to give this one a try. 

Unfortunately, I ran into a problem before I even got started. And that was I realized that I did not have enough all-purpose flour to make all the recipes I was working on that morning. And going to the store wasn’t a option as my plans didn’t allow for it. So, I measured out half of the flour needed for each recipe and found that I had just enough to do that. The other half of the flour I needed came from my container of whole wheat flour. Crisis averted, assuming that the recipe still worked as well with the whole wheat. 

Luckily, it did. I remember trying one after they had cooled a bit and my first thought was “well, it tastes like a pretzel”. Whew. 

One thing about this recipe that I preferred over the other one was that for this one I had to soak them in a cooled mixture of baking soda and water, rather than in a mix that was boiling. I just felt that it was a lot simpler to do that. Other than the fact that I used some whole wheat flour I didn’t change anything about this recipe other than I didn’t roll them in melted butter after they were done baking. Two reasons really, the first was that I had to run out the door as soon as they came out of the oven and, since I was making these in the morning for something at night, it seemed like it wasn’t a good idea to do that if they would just sit all day.  And they did get a little flat on the side that was touching the pan (as you can see in the picture). Not a big issue but something to be aware of if you are looking for more of that rounded bite. 

So, all in all a pretty successful endeavor I believe. I might have to keep this recipe on hand for future party needs. Maybe then I’ll be able to make it the “right” way. 

This entry was posted in Appetizers, Bread and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

