Mad About Whiskey Sours



Admittedly, I like my whiskey (and bourbon) and have had my fair share of whiskey sours. But it has always been premade. That is, the “sours” part comes pre-mixed in a bottle. Naturally then, when I came across this recipe I needed to give it a try. 

Bottomline – it was a pretty good drink. Right after I put it together I was concerned I may have made a mistake. I decided to substitute the Crystal Light with store brand lemonade mix and I thought that maybe the quantity of mix for the store brand was more than what the Crystal Light would have been (both would make 2 quarts of lemonade but maybe the Crystal Light was, um, lighter???). 

But it was fine. A little on the strong side but good. The only downside? It was not as good when I went to drink the rest a few days later. Something must have settle or, I don’t know what, but it did not taste as good. 

Recipe taken from the Summer ’14 issue of Kraft Food and Family magazine 

1/3 cup water

1 package (2 quart size) Crystal Light lemonade drink mix

1 1/2 cups whiskey

3/4 cups fresh lemon juice (I used bottled)

Maraschino cherries

Add water to drink mix and stir until dissolved. Add whiskey and lemon juice and stir until mixed. Serve over ice and garnish with cherries. 

This entry was posted in Alcohol and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mad About Whiskey Sours

  1. Mhealy says:

    I like your twist on the classic! Sounds tastey

Leave a Reply

